Meeting of Commissioners of
Public Utility District No. 1 of Clark County, Washington
September 19, 2023

A meeting of Commissioners of Public Utility District No. 1 of Clark County was held at Clark Public Utilities, 1200 Fort Vancouver Way, Vancouver, Washington, on Tuesday, September 19, 2023.

Present: President Jane Van Dyke, Secretary Nancy Barnes Commissioners, CEO/General Manager Lena Wittler, Director of Energy Resources Dan Bedbury, Director of Employee Resources Nichole Reitzenstein, Director of Operations/Interim Director of Water Gene Morris, Director of Communications Erica Erland, General Counsel John Eldridge, Director of Engineering Cal Morris, Director of Information Services Jeff Groff, Accounting Manager Bryan Johnson, Technical Innovation Project Manager Julie Landry, Lean Applications Analyst/Developer Ron Ankeny, Customer Service Supervisor Leah Veitenheimer, Work Group Leader Jascelynn Struthers and Assistant to the CEO/General Manager Margaret Anderson

Staff via digital conference (phone or video): Vice President Jim Malinowski and Marketing Communications Specialist Martha Foley

Others present via digital conference (phone or video) or in person: Peter Harrison, Don Steinke, Rick Marshall, Tom Gordon, Bryan Kast, Cathryn Chudy, Sherri Erickson and Monica Zazueta

Press representatives: None

At 9:00 a.m., President Van Dyke called the meeting to order for the transaction of formal business and the agenda was approved (Materials B).

Public Comment
The following represents a brief summary of comments made by members of the public in attendance:

Cathryn Chudy thanked the utility for the Power Supply Workshop and shared her concerns regarding small modular reactors.

Don Steinke thanked the utility for an interesting workshop and wondered if more heat pump waters heaters and additional solar would free up transmission space.

Monica Zazueta asked the utility to consider all possibilities to move toward clean energy for a healthier planet and population.

Peter Harrison shared how the Doppler broadening process works within the XL Energy small modular reactor.

If written comments are submitted, they may be obtained by contacting Margaret Anderson at [email protected] or 360-992-3378.

Consideration of the Minutes of September 5, 2023
The minutes were approved as presented.

Consideration of Accounts Payable
The board, by a unanimous vote, approved the following payment amounts as listed on the Letter of Transmittal dated September 19, 2023 from the District Auditor (Materials C):

Electric Revenue Fund – $8,324,620.08
Water Revenue Fund – $104,970.57
Generating System Fund – $105,851.56

For a total of $8,535,442.21

Employee Service Awards
Director of Information Services Jeff Groff introduced the following employees (Materials D):
• Technical Innovation Project Manager Julie Landry, who was recognized for 20 years of service
• Lean Applications Analyst/Developer Ron Ankeny was also recognized for 20 years of service

Consideration of Bid Award No. 659 – UH & UG Construction Services
Director of Operations/Interim Director of Water Gene Morris reviewed the memo dated September 19, 2023 detailing the bid results (Materials E). Commissioner Barnes moved to recommend that Bid No. 659 be awarded to the low evaluated bidder Yates Line Construction Co. for the estimated annual contract amount of $1,268,495.20 plus applicable taxes. Commissioner Malinowski seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Commission Reports and Comments
The board thanked staff for the excellent work done in preparation for the Power Supply Workshop, noting that the topics were very informative and the speakers that were scheduled proved to be subject matter experts.

Commissioner Van Dyke reported on her attendance at the Washington PUD Association meetings and announced that Liz Anderson has been named the new Executive Director for the Association. A farewell reception will be held for retiring WPUDA Executive Director George Kahn on November 15.

Staff Reports
There were no staff reports.

Other Business before the Board
There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 9:50 a.m.