Meeting of Commissioners of
Public Utility District No. 1 of Clark County, Washington
January 10, 2017

A meeting of Commissioners of Public Utility District No. 1 of Clark County was held in the Electric Center, 1200 Fort Vancouver Way, Vancouver, Washington, on Tuesday, the 10th day of January at the hour of 9:00 a.m.

Present: President Jane Van Dyke, Vice President Jim Malinowski, Secretary Nancy Barnes, Commissioners, Director of Finance Rick Dyer, Director of Operations Dan Krebs, Director of Engineering Cal Morris, Director of Communications Lena Wittler, Director of Water Doug Quinn, Director of Energy Resources Dan Bedbury, Director of Customer Service Lisa Fix, Corporate Communications Manager Erica Erland, Energy Services Project Manager Matt Babbitts and Assistant to CEO/General Manager Margaret Anderson.

Press Representatives: None

Others Present: Rick Syring (Materials A)

At 9:00 a.m., President Van Dyke called the meeting to order for the transaction of formal business.

Consideration of the Meeting Agenda
There were no changes or corrections (Materials B).

Public Comment on Non Agenda Items
There were no public comments.

Consideration of the Minutes of December 27, 2016
There were no changes or corrections.

The board, by a unanimous vote, approved the following payment amounts as listed on the Letter of Transmittal dated January 10, 2017, from the District Auditor:

Electric Revenue Fund – $26,400,960.40
Water Revenue Fund – $4,621,385.23
Generating System Fund – $21,615,364.39

For a total of $52,637,710.02

Discussion of 2017 Industry and Community Organization Assignments
Commissioners expressed interest in maintaining current assignments (Materials C). Commissioner Barnes moved to maintain current assignments, Commissioner Malinowski seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

Consideration of Resolutions of Establishment of LUD Nos. 1262, 1268 and 1269
Director of Engineering Cal Morris addressed the board regarding the Establishment of Local Utility District Nos. 1262, 1262 and 1269 for street lighting.

Resolution No. 7327 – LUD No. 1262 – Klineline Townhomes
Resolution No. 7328 – LUD No. 1268 – The Meadows at Whipple Creek
Resolution No. 7329 – LUD No. 1269 – Legacy Place PH 1

After the presentation by Mr. Morris, Commissioner Van Dyke opened the public hearing for comment. There being no public comment, a motion was made by Commissioner Malinowski, seconded by Commissioner Barnes and unanimously carried that Resolution Nos. 7327 – 7329 (Materials C) be adopted.

Consideration of the 2017-2018 OPower Contract Extension
Energy Services Project Manager Matt Babbitts presented a request for renewal of the OPower Home Energy Report program (Materials D). The program continues to provide low-cost reportable conservation figures in compliance with state requirements. The two-year program extension will provide 14,500 participants with quarterly reports on their home energy use.

Commissioner Barnes moved to approve the OPower contract extension for 2017 and 2018, Commissioner Malinowski seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

Commissioner Reports and Comments
Commissioner Malinowski reported that he will be a mentor to the newly elected commissioner at Jefferson County PUD.

Commissioner Van Dyke reported on her attendance at the Public Power Council meeting and would the like utility to consider making its own comments on the recently released Bonneville Power Administration Fish Biological Opinion.

To better accommodate public attendance commissioners discussed moving regular board meetings to the first and third Tuesdays of each month at 9:00 a.m. Staff will provide a formal proposal for changing the regular meeting schedule at the next meeting, taking place Tuesday, January 24.

Staff Reports
Director of Operations Dan Krebs provided a brief staff report to detail the recent weather events. Crews were able to restore power to all by Sunday, January 8 and leadership continues to monitor weather reports and prepare accordingly.

Other Business before the Board
There being no further business before the Board, the meeting was recessed to executive session at 10:00 discuss a personnel matter. Commissioner Van Dyke expected the executive session to last no later than 11:30 a.m. and no formal action would be taken.

At 11:07 a.m. Commissioner Van Dyke reconvened the public meeting, reporting that no formal action was taken during executive session, and the public meeting was adjourned at 11:08 a.m.