Meeting of Commissioners of
Public Utility District No. 1 of Clark County, Washington
December 17, 2019

A meeting of Commissioners of Public Utility District No. 1 of Clark County was held at the Electric Center, 1200 Fort Vancouver Way, Vancouver, Washington, on Tuesday, December 17, 2019.

Present: President Nancy Barnes, Vice President Jane Van Dyke and Secretary Jim Malinowski Commissioners, CEO/General Manager Lena Wittler, Director of Finance Melissa Ankeny, Director of Engineering Cal Morris, Director of Water Doug Quinn, Director of Energy Resources Dan Bedbury, Director of Information Services Mike Harris, Director of Operations Gene Morris, Director of Communications Erica Erland, Senior Legal Counsel John Eldridge, Energy Resources Project Manager Matt Babbitts, Media Specialist Dameon Pesanti, and Assistant to CEO/General Manager Margaret Anderson.

Press Representatives: None

Others Present: Don Steinke and Steve Andersen (Materials A)

At 9:00 a.m., President Barnes called the meeting to order for the transaction of formal business. Commissioner Barnes noted a quorum was present and the agenda (Materials B) was approved as submitted.

Consideration of the Minutes of December 3, 2019
There were no changes or corrections.

Public Comment – Non Agenda Items
Member of the public Don Steinke shared his thoughts on climate change.

Consideration of Accounts Payable
The board, by a unanimous vote, approved the following payment amounts as listed on the Letter of Transmittal dated December 17, 2019 from the District Auditor (Materials C):

Electric Revenue Fund – $19,466,609.76
Water Revenue Fund – $1,018,159.75
Generating System Fund – $138,631.19

For a total of $20,623,400.70

Consideration of a Resolution Reorganizing the Board of Commissioner Chairs for 2020
Commissioner Barnes moved to nominate Commissioner Van Dyke as President, Commissioner Malinowski as Vice President and Commissioner Barnes as secretary effective January 1, 2020. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Malinowski and passed unanimously (Attachment C).

Consideration of a Resolution for the 2020 and 2021 Grid Scale Distributed Generation Avoided Cost Rate
Energy Resources Project Manager Matt Babbitts provided the board with a history of the avoided cost rate and a summary of the analysis for the 2020 and 2021 avoided cost rate (Materials D). Following the review, Commissioner Malinowski moved to adopt the avoided cost rate of $36.74/MWh through September 30, 2021. Commissioner Van Dyke seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.

Consideration of the Community Solar Re-Sale Options
Energy Resources Project Manager Matt Babbitts provided the board with a summary of the community solar program, the number of unclaimed solar units and two options for the use of those unclaimed solar units, one being a low income option and the other a general sale option (Materials E).

Commissioner Van Dyke moved to approve the low income option that would have the 2020 Washington State incentive and annual generation credits for the life of the system applied to the Operation Warm Heart general fund. Following commissioner discussion of the low income and the general sale options Commissioner Malinowski seconded the motion. Commissioners Van Dyke and Malinowski voted in favor of the motion, Commissioner Barnes voted to oppose the motion. The motion passed with a majority voting in favor.

Commissioner Reports and Comments
Commissioners Van Dyke and Malinowski reported on their attendance at the Washington PUD Association annual meetings.

Commissioner Malinowski reported on his attendance at the Executive Board meeting at Energy Northwest.

Staff Reports
CEO/General Manager Lena Wittler reported that the employee appreciation breakfasts were well attended and that three all-star awards and the 761 award were presented at those meetings.

Director of Operations Gene Morris presented the board with copies of the movie Slim, portraying the life and history of a lineman.

Public Comment
There were no public comments.

Other Business before the Board
There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 10:55 a.m.