Meeting of Commissioners of
Public Utility District No. 1 of Clark County, Washington
April 17, 2018

A meeting of Commissioners of Public Utility District No. 1 of Clark County was held at the Electric Center, 1200 Fort Vancouver Way, Vancouver, Washington, on Tuesday, April 17 at the hour of 9:00 a.m.

Present: President Jim Malinowski, Vice President Nancy Barnes, Secretary Jane Van Dyke Commissioners, CEO/General Manager Wayne Nelson, Director of Operations Dan Krebs, Director of Communications Lena Wittler, Director of Information Services Mike Harris, Director of Energy Resources Dan Bedbury, Director of Customer Service Lisa Fix, Corporate Communications Manager Erica Erland, Accounting Manager Melissa Ankeny, Customer Service Manager Robert Hill, Construction Services Manager Dana Allen, Materials and Purchasing Manager Cathy Wannamaker, Construction and Maintenance Superintendent Mike Brown, Energy Resource Manager Terry Toland, Working Foreman Dave Autry, Senior Customer Service Representatives Jeff Kuratli and Kim Aborn and Executive Assistant Abby Olbrich.

Press Representatives: None

Others Present: Judy Chipman, Don Steinke and Rick Syring (Materials A)

At 9:00 a.m., President Malinowski called the meeting to order for the transaction of formal business.

Member of the public Don Steinke shared his thoughts with the board regarding carbon in the state of Washington. He asked the board for their support of Initiative 1631 and for Clark Public Utilities to invest more in conservation. The board thanked Mr. Steinke for coming and sharing his views.

Consideration of the Minutes of April 3, 2018
There were no changes or corrections.

Consideration of Accounts Payable
The board, by a unanimous vote, approved the following payment amounts as listed on the Letter of Transmittal dated April 17, 2018, from the District Auditor:

Electric Revenue Fund – $3,714,757.48
Water Revenue Fund – $460,210.46
Generating System Fund – $385,841.64

For a total of $4,560,809.58

March and April Service Award Presentation
Director of Operations Dan Krebs introduced Dave Autry, Working Foreman. Dave was recognized for 20 years of service.

Director of Customer Service Lisa Fix introduced Senior Customer Service Representatives Kim Aborn and Jeff Kuratli. Kim and Jeff were recognized for 25 years of service.

Consideration of Resolutions of Establishment for LUD Nos. 1310 and 1313
Construction Services Manager Dana Allen addressed the board regarding the Establishment of Local Utility District Nos. 1310 and 1313.

Resolution No. 7439 – LUD No. 1310 – Merritt’s Hideaway PH3
Resolution No. 7440 – LUD No. 1313 – Sutherland Subdivision

After the presentation by Ms. Allen, Commissioner Malinowski opened the public hearing for comment. There being no comment, a motion was made by Commissioner Van Dyke, seconded by Commissioner Barnes and unanimously carried that Resolution Nos. 7439 and 7440 be adopted (Materials C).

Consideration of Bid Award No. 535 – Turbine Lube Oil Conditioning System
Materials and Purchasing Manager Cathy Wannamaker reviewed the memo dated April 17, 2018 detailing the bid results (Materials D). Commissioner Barnes moved to recommend that Bid No. 535 be awarded to the only responsive bidder, Northwest Oil Solutions, LLC, Inc. in the amount of $79,869.42 plus applicable taxes. Commissioner Van Dyke seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

Consideration of Uncollectable Accounts
Customer Service Manager Robert Hill addressed the board regarding the uncollectable debt for the second half of 2017 (Materials E). Mr. Hill stated the percentage of net losses from closed accounts to revenue is .27% for the second half of 2017; the ten-year average is .43%, which is below the industry standard of .56%. The year-to-date total is $1.57 million, which is up slightly from 2016. The utility continues to compare favorably across the industry in regard to account delinquency.

Following the presentation, staff recommended the board approve charging $880,753 to uncollectable debt for the second half of 2017. Commissioner Van Dyke moved to transfer $880,753 to uncollectable debt for the second half of 2017. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Barnes and it passed unanimously.

Commissioner Reports and Comments
Commissioners Van Dyke and Barnes reported on their attendance at the Public Power Council meeting.

Commissioner Malinowski reported and his acceptance of the Tree Line USA award on behalf of the utility which was presented on Arbor Day. He also facilitated a discussion surrounding the Washington PUD Association board candidates and the Energy Northwest participant board candidates.

Staff Reports
Director of Operations Dan Krebs reported that Clark Public Utilities was recognized at the Northwest Public Power Association Engineering and Operations Conference for a safety award, the utility received first place.

Other Business before the Board
There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting recessed into executive session at 10:10 a.m. to discuss personnel matters and potential litigation as allowed by RCW 42.30.110(1)(g) and 42.30.110 (1)(i). The executive session was expected to last thirty-five minutes and no formal action would to be taken. The public meeting was reconvened at 10:45 a.m., Commissioner Malinowski reported that no formal action was taken and the meeting adjourned at 10:45 a.m.