Meeting of Commissioners of
Public Utility District No. 1 of Clark County, Washington
December 19, 2023

A meeting of Commissioners of Public Utility District No. 1 of Clark County was held at Clark Public Utilities, 1200 Fort Vancouver Way, Vancouver, Washington, on Tuesday, December 19, 2023.

Present: President Jane Van Dyke, Vice President Jim Malinowski, Secretary Nancy Barnes Commissioners, CEO/General Manager Lena Wittler, Director of Communications Erica Erland, Director of Engineering Cal Morris, Director of Operations/Interim Director of Water Gene Morris, Director of Information Services Jeff Groff, Director of Energy Resources Dan Bedbury, General Counsel John Eldridge, Director of Customer Service Lisa Fix, Community Engagement Specialist Morgan Van Fleet, Human Resources Generalist Abby Olbrich, Energy Resource Manager Terry Toland, River Road Generating Plant Maintenance Manager Ken Roach and Assistant to the CEO/General Manager Margaret Anderson.

Staff via digital conference (phone or video): PIO/Media Specialist Dameon Pesanti and Director of Finance Melissa Ankeny.

Others present via digital conference (phone or video) or in person: Gordon Matthews, Don Steinke, Alona Steinke, Rick Marshall, Peter Harrison, Steven Campana, Tim Emineth, Tom Gordon, Cathryn Chudy and Chris Thobaben.

At 9:00 a.m., President Van Dyke called the meeting to order for the transaction of formal business and the agenda was approved as presented (Materials B).

Public Comment
The following represents a brief summary of comments made by members of the public in attendance:

Don Steinke provided comments on his electric vehicle purchase, Puget Sound Energy renewable energy plans and the need for fair access to community solar.

Alona Steinke provided comment on stopping the oil trains from coming to Vancouver, Community Solar East and the need for more residential solar.

Cathryn Chudy shared her appreciation for Clark Public Utilities’ dedicated and efficient staff; she would like us to keep our rates reasonable while securing more renewable products and is not in support of small modular nuclear reactors.

Rick Marshall shared his confidence in Clark Public Utilities, and would like the utility to pursue cleaner energy at lower costs and explore storage as an option noting cleaner air is better for all.

Peter Harrison shared his recent electric vehicle purchase and stressed the need for more affordable electric vehicles.

Tim Emineth thanked Clark Public Utilities for its great service and low outage history, he would like to see an increase in electric vehicle charging infrastructure in multifamily housing.

Chris Thobaben shared that it is crucial to explore all energy options including nuclear, stating that nuclear energy has a long-standing safe operating history.

If written comments are submitted, they may be obtained by contacting Margaret Anderson at [email protected] or 360-992-3378.

Consideration of the Minutes of December 5, 2023
The minutes were approved as presented.

Consideration of Accounts Payable
The board, by a unanimous vote, approved the following payment amounts as listed on the Letter of Transmittal dated December 19, 2023 from the District Auditor (Materials C):

Electric Revenue Fund – $12,382,568.81
Water Revenue Fund – $348,669.29
Generating System Fund – $829,703.89

For a total of $13,560,941.99

Recognition of Service and Retirement – River Road Generating Plant Maintenance Manager Ken Roach
Energy Resource Manager Terry Toland recognized GE Maintenance Manager Ken Roach and presented him with the Critical Asset Award. Mr. Roach is retiring after 21 years of service in three different roles at the plant.

Consideration of Resolution Reorganizing the Board of Commissioner Chairs for 2024
Commissioner Barnes moved to nominate Commissioner Malinowski as President, Commissioner Barnes as Vice President and Commissioner Van Dyke as Secretary effective January 1, 2024. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Malinowski and passed unanimously (Materials D).

Consideration of 2024 Committee Assignments
Commissioners reviewed current committee assignments and following discussion, Commissioner Malinowski moved to keep assignments the same for 2024, Commissioner Barnes seconded the motion and it passed unanimously (Materials E).

Consideration of Resolutions of Intent to Establish LUD Nos. 1466, 1465, 1473, 1477 and 1478
Director of Engineering Cal Morris addressed the board regarding the Intent to Establish Local Utility District Nos. 1466, 1465, 1473, 1477 and 1478.

Resolution No. 7819 – LUD No. 1466 – Park Meadow
Resolution No. 7820 – LUD No. 1465 – Manzhura 72nd Ave Townhouse
Resolution No. 7821 – LUD No. 1473 – Ramble Creek PH 3
Resolution No. 7822 – LUD No. 1477 – Vancouver Lakeview
Resolution No. 7823 – LUD No. 1478 – Olson Subdivision

After the presentation by Mr. Morris, Commissioner Van Dyke opened for public comment. There being no comment, a motion was made by Commissioner Barnes, seconded by Commissioner Malinowski, and unanimously carried that Resolution Nos. 7819 – 7823 be adopted and a public hearing was set for January 9, 2024 (Materials F).

Commission Reports and Comments
Commissioner Barnes reported on her attendance at the Columbia Springs meeting.

Commissioner Van Dyke reported on her attendance at the Employee Breakfast events.

The board looks forward to hearing more about the upcoming Community Leader Education Series in February and March.

Staff Reports
CEO/General Manager Lena Wittler reminded the board that the Race for Warmth will be held on Sunday, January 28 and the Cost of Service review will be held at our January 9, 2024 Special Commission Meeting.

Ms. Wittler also shared that Clark Public Utilities was recognized by JD Power as ranking highest in customer satisfaction with residential electric service in the west among midsize utilities for the 16th consecutive year.

Other Business before the Board
There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 10:02 a.m.